Happiness is a state of mind


This post I am writing for Indispire topic

“How happy are you? Do you look for reasons to be happy? Are smiles linked with happiness? ”

When I read this topic first line came to my mind “Happiness is a state of mind”, don’t know why because I am not much familiar to its meaning so I googled it. I read few blogs and it make me more confuse. So I came up with my own meaning and I quote it in simple sentence “It means physical things don’t give us happiness but if our mind like something we feel happy.”

People often think that certain things can make us happy like car, big house, big job etc and these things do bring happiness (obviously nobody can deny it, no matter how saint you are) but temporarily then we always look for next big thing. These are our short term goals if these are fulfilled we are happy but for short period.

Ideally one should be happy without reasons but we are not ideal people, we need reasons to be happy like the backspace button on my laptop started working again (by itself) so I am happy, my housemaid came on time makes me happy more, pet dog of my neighbor is not barking today, Govt managed to bring Mallya back to India (Their appraisals are coming soon so they are working hard now), India won cricket match again (phew..these matches give us so much tension) pinnacle of happiness, etc etc. Jokes apart there are certain things in life that you enjoy doing it and sometimes
don’t care about results, journey itself is very good, destination doesn’t matter. I believe that journey is happiness.

11 thoughts on “Happiness is a state of mind”

  1. Nice take on the prompt, yes agree with you…”Journey is happiness”, when you will reach the destination you will realize it deeply but in the journey of life where the unfulfilled wishes meet head on collisions with the necessities,desires and other social issues then we forget to cherish the journey…its life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment