Fighting Against Depression #SatyamevJayate


The topic of Satyamev Jayate this week “Depression and Mental Illness” has touched my heart. Depression is very common these days, increasing stress level is one of the root causes of it. Stress can be the first step to depression. There are certain points in my life when I feel like I have crossed the level of stress and I am on the verge of depression, but few things help me stay away from it. I like to share these points with you all –

Speak out – Friends are the best gift that life gives us. Share your problems with them. Sometimes it happens that problem that seems so huge in the mind is becoming smaller when we share it someone. As told by a doctor in Satyamev Jayate episode, it is like the cleaning process of mind. It will also increase the chances of getting problem solved. But I will suggest to share your problems with only one person whom you trust blindly.

Satyamev3

Stop continuous thinking – There was a joke, my “Art of living” instructor always used to say, “If you want to be in depression, then follow the steps as I say, Go to the room, switch off the light, close your eyes and repeat this line 10 times,”God what will happen to me in future” this will surely lead you to depression”. Continuous thinking about the problem will surely lead anyone to the depression. There are some ways which I have tried to distract myself :

a) Start pursuing hobbies – Best way to keep you busy and happy.
b) Watching TV – I will suggest watching the comedy shows or comedy movie on TV. Laughter is the best medicine.
c) Listening to music – Please avoid sad songs.

Solution of temporary problem should not create permanent problem – This line always guide me and stops me to follow the wrong path. Whenever I feel low, I start repeating one line in mind “This situation is temporary. Everything will be fine soon”. Sometimes while solving temporary problems people create permanent one like a person has a bad experience in a relationship then this is a temporary problem, but if he will decide to commit suicide as it’s become difficult for him to cope with situation, this will become a permanent problem. The person is not able to see the consequences of his act because the problem appears too big to him. Some incidences make us feel this is the end of life, nothing left. But that’s not true there are so many things waiting for us. Life always a chance of a fresh start.

Be in the company of your loved ones – Loneliness is a curse, let me clear one thing living alone and loneliness are two different things (Personally I don’t like living alone as well). “Loneliness is the feeling of social isolation or dissatisfaction with your relationships,” Dr. Cacioppo says.(copied line) This social isolation is sometimes created by us, reason can be anything like a bad experience with friends or excess work, etc. Loneliness leads to the depression. Worst part of being in depression is people need someone’s company, but they deny it, they don’t realize that talking to someone will help them.

satyamev4

I am not trying to give any kind of “gyaan”, these are the tips that worked for me but thinking may vary from person to person. If you want to add something or want to share your tips please feel free to comment on this post.

If you are depressed, feel suicidal or have a question related to mental health, you can contact the Vandrevala Foundation on their helpline number – 1 860 266 2345 (Copied from Satyamev Jayate’s Official site)

You can also email them at – help@vandrevalafoundation.com

Satyamev1

2 thoughts on “Fighting Against Depression #SatyamevJayate”

Leave a Reply

